Murray Edwards College
University of Cambridge

Notable alumnae

Main page content

Photo of Alumna Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell (left)
Alumna Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell (left) with Fellows

Our alumnae and their impact on the world

Alumnae of the College have made a significant impact on the world over the last 60 years, becoming leaders of families, communities, companies, university and charities. Our alumnae make an impact. Over and over again, our former students tell us that they found their path - and the courage to follow it - here at Murray Edwards College. 



Bina Agarwal (NH 1970) - Professor of Development Economics and Environment, University of Manchester

Rosemary Ashby (NH 1961) - Former President, Pine Manor College, USA

Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell (NH 1965) - Astrophysicist who discovered pulsars and was also the first female president of the Institute of Physics

Sheila Brown (NH 1966) - Former President and Vice-Chancellor, Mount Saint Vincent University, Canada

Helen Rees (NH 1971 ) -  Distinguished scientist, researcher on HIV/AIDS, reproductive health

Dame Julia King (NH 1972) - Vice-Chancellor, Aston University, Birmingham

Kate Pretty CBE (NH 1965) – Former Principal, Homerton College, Cambridge

Dame Jessica Rawson (NH 1962) - Art historian

Fiona Watt (NH 1973)- Director, Centre for Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine, King's College London

Baroness Haleh Afshar (NH 1967) – Academician of Academy of Social Science, founding member of the Muslims Women’s Network, serves on British Council and the United Nations Association, of which she is honorary president of international services. Teaches Politics and Women's Studies at the University of York.

Dame Barbara Stocking (NH 1969) - President of Murray Edwards College


Writers, Journalists and Broadcasters

Gina Barreca (NH 1979) - Women's humourist, writer, speaker, and Professor of Feminist Theory

Ursula Buchan (NH 1971) - Award-winning garden author and lecturer

Frances Edmonds (NH 1970) - Best-selling author, broadcaster, and speaker

Gillian Gill (NH 1961) - Writer

Mishal Husain (NH 1992) – Presenter of BBC News, BBC Radio 4’s Today programme and several BBC documentaries, including Malala – shot for going to school. Honorary Fellow, Murray Edwards College.

Minette Marin (NH 1967) - Journalist, broadcaster, and fiction writer

Maggie O'Farrell (NH 1990) - Author

Sonia Ruseler (NH 1981) - Corporate Communications Senior Director , Acros Doradas. Former CNN International news presenter

Camilla Toulmin (NH 1972) – Senior Fellow, International Institute for Environment and Development

Hilary Wilce (NH 1967) - Journalist and writer

Vicki Young (NH 1988) – Chief Political Correspondent, BBC News.

Lisa Burke (NH 1995) –  Author of children’s science books. Former Sky TV Weather Presenter

Helen MacDonald (NH 1989) – Author

Joanna Rossiter (NH 2004) – Author


Corporate leaders

Margaret Cole (1979) - General Counsel of PwC UK and member of the UK Executive Board

Jane Frost CBE (NH 1975) - Chief Executive, Market Research Society (MRS)

Fiona Gilmore (NH 1974) - Founder and Chairman, Acanchi Limited

Liv Garfield (NH 1993) - chief executive of Severn Trent


Healthcare and Science

Siân Griffiths OBE (NH 1970) – Board Member, Public Health England, Director, School of Public Health and Primary Care, The Chinese University of Hong Kong



Wendy Joseph QC (NH 1971) - Senior Circuit Judge, the Old Bailey

Alison Cole (NH 1999) – Adjunct Professor, NYU School of Law, Legal Officer, Open Society Justice Initiative.Visual Arts

Deborah Swallow (NH 1966) - Director, The Courtauld Institute of Art


Performing Arts and Entertainment

Joanna MacGregor OBE (NH 1978) - Concert pianist

Hattie Morahan (NH 1997) - Actress

Sue Perkins (NH 1988) - TV presenter, actress, comedian, and writer

Josie Rourke (NH 1995) - Artistic Director, Donmar Warehouse

Roxana Silbert (NH 1983) - Artistic Director, Birmingham Repertory Theatre

Sarah Solemani ( NH 2002 ) – Actress and writer

Tilda Swinton (NH 1980) - Actress

Nicola Walker (NH 1989) - Actress

Claudia Winkleman (NH 1990) - TV presenter and broadcaster


Third Sector and Government

Robin Raphael (NH 1969) - Diplomat

Catherine Tyack (NH 1998) – Head, NHS England Sponsorship and Commissioning Policy Team, Department of Health.

Clare Winterton (NH 1990) – VP Advocacy & Innovation at Global Fund for Women. Former Executive Director, International Museum of Women

Alice Walpole (NH 1982) – Ambassador to Luxembourg

Christine Wallich (NH 1970) – Trustee in Residence, American Academy in Berlin. Former Director, Independent Evaluation Group at World Bank